Rock of Cashel
The Rock of Cashel (Irish: Carraig Phádraig), also known as Cashel of the Kings and St. Patrick's Rock, is a historic site located at Cashel, County Tipperary, Ireland. The Rock of Cashel was the traditional seat of the kings of Munster for several hundred years prior to the Norman invasion. In 1101, the King of Munster, Muirchertach Ua Briain, donated his fortress on the Rock to the Church. The picturesque complex has a character of its own and is one of the most remarkable collections of Celtic art and medieval architecture to be found anywhere in Europe. Few remnants of the early structures survive; the majority of buildings on the current site date from the 12th and 13th centuries.
For more information, see: Ireland's Ancient East - Rock of Cashel
Hore Abbey (also Hoare Abbey, sometimes known as St.Mary's) is a ruined Cistercian monastery near the Rock of Cashel, County Tipperary, Republic of Ireland. 'Hore' is thought to derive from 'iubhair' – yew tree. The former Benedictine abbey at Hore was given to the Cistercians by Archbishop David MacCearbhaill (in 1270), who later entered the monastery. He endowed the Abbey generously with land, mills and other benefices previously belonging to the town. Hore Abbey is distinctive among Irish Cistercian monasteries in that the cloister lies to the north. The siting of the Abbey, with the Rock of Cashel close by to the north, may explain this departure from the usual arrangement.
For more information, see: Megalithic Ireland - Hore Abbey
Brú Ború, located at the foot of the historic Rock of Cashel, is an affiliate of Comhaltas Ceoltóirí Éireann, the Irish cultural movement which has over 400 branches worldwide. Brú Ború promotes its cultural programme through education, research, publications, exhibitions, performances and information service. We have a policy of co-operation with other cultural interests at home and abroad. Brú Ború offers you an unique Irish cultural experience nestling in the shadow of the ancient Rock of Cashel. Join the millions who have discovered Brú Ború. A Céad Míle Fáilte awaits you.
For more information, see: Brú Ború Website
Cashel Folk Village
Cashel Folk Village has a history that dates back almost 400 years, while historical artefacts on site date back as far as 20,000 years. First, to its most recent history- Bernard Minogue, son-in-law of Martin O Dwyer, is the Curator of the Museums. Martin himself originally set up Cashel Folk Village/Museums, and it is to his eternal credit that it is now internationally renowned as a major historical visitors site.
For more information, see: Cashel Folk Village Website
The Bolton Library
The Bolton Library contains a unique collection of antiquarian books and is the finest collection outside of Dublin. The books were collected by Archbishop Theophilis Bolton, Archbishop of Cashel from 1730 to 1744. The library is now housed in the Chapter House situated in the grounds of the Cathedral Church of St Patrick's Rock and St John the Baptist in John Street. The collection contains a wide range of subjects and includes a 12th-century manuscript, the Nuremnberg Chronicle, and works by Dante, Swift, Calvin, Erasmus and Machiavelli. Also on display are maps and church silver. Organised tours may be available by prior arrangement.
For more information, see: Discover Ireland - Bolton Library
Cashel Heritage Centre and Museum
The heritage centre, located on the main street in Cashel, is a great introduction to the town. A large scale model of the town in the 1640s highlights the lesser known treasures of the town. Audio commentary is in French, Spanish, German, Italian, Irish and English. There is also the Charters of Cashel, King Charles II 1663 and James II 1687, on permanent display. Admission to the Cashel Heritage Centre is free.
For more information, see: Tipperary County Council - Cashel heritage Centre
An imposing 13th-15th Century structure, Cahir Castle was skilfully designed by Conor O’Brien to be a state-of-the-art defensive castle. Appearing to grow from the actual rock on which it stands, the castle has been the scene of sieges and bombardments for centuries. The powerful Anglo-Norman family, the Butlers, came into the possession of the castle in 1375. The castle was captured three times in its history: it fell to Devereux, Earl of Essex, in 1599 after it had been battered for three days with artillery; it surrendered without a fight to Inchiquin in 1647; and again to Cromwell in 1650. Over the centuries the Butlers considerably rebuilt and extended their stronghold. However, by 1599, the castle had reached its present appearance, with the only subsequent alterations taking place in the 1840s. In 1961, the last Lord Cahir died and the castle reverted to the State. The castle retains its impressive keep, tower and much of its original defensive structure. Today, the castle also features an excellent audio-visual show which informs visitors about its eventful history.
For more information, see: Heritage Ireland - Cahir Castle
A delightful "cottage orné" built in the early 1800s by Richard Butler, 1st Earl of Glengall to a design by the famous Regency architect John Nash. Its interior contains a graceful spiral staircase and some elegantly decorated rooms. The wallpaper in the Salon manufactured by the Dufour factory is one of the first commercially produced Parisian wallpapers. Situated on an elevated site with access by stone steps.
For more information, see: Heritage Ireland - Swiss Cottage